Azure announces the winners of the fifth annual AZ Awards

Best Furniture Design: Arper: Kinesit, by Lievore Altherr Molina

From an impressive 720 submissions arriving from 43 countries, 19 winners have been selected in the fifth annual AZ Awards – an international competition honouring excellence in design and architecture

Toronto, Canada, 2015-06-15 - Top players of the international architectural and design community, from as far as Denmark and Dubai, gathered at the Evergreen Brick Works tonight as AZURE revealed the winners of its fifth annual AZ Awards.

The AZ Awards are one of a kind: the only international, multi-disciplinary design competition in Canada. Representing a global snapshot of the world of architecture and design, submissions were open to designers, architects, firms and manufacturers of all disciplines, as well as students in these fields.

The high-calibre international jury included architect Winka Dubbeldam of Archi-Tectonics (New York), architect Brendan MacFarlane of Jakob + MacFarlane (Paris), designer Anwar Mekhayech of the Design Agency (Toronto), landscape architect Janet Rosenberg of Janet Rosenberg & Studio (Toronto) and designer Philippe Malouin (London). In March, the expert panel conferred at Toronto’s Thompson Hotel, narrowing the field from an impressive 720 entries arriving from 43 countries to a shortlist of 66 finalists. From there, they selected the 19 outstanding winners.

During the month of April, the public was also given the chance to vote online for their favourites as the People’s Choice.

The full list of winners are:-


Best Residential Architecture – Single Family: PARA-Project: Haffenden House, Syracuse, USA




Best Residential Architecture – Multi-Unit: Antonini Darmon: Oiseau des Îles Social Housing, Nantes, France




Best Commercial  ⁄ Institutional Architecture Over 1,000 Square Metres: John Wardle Architects and NADAAA in collaboration: Melbourne School of Design, Melbourne, Australia




Best Commercial  ⁄  Institutional Architecture Under 1,000 Square Metres: SchilderScholte Architecten: Pani Community Centre, Rajarhat, Bangladesh





Best Landscape Architecture: GH3: June Callwood Park, Toronto, Canada





Best Temporary /  Demonstration Architecture: Philip Beesley Architect: Epiphyte Chamber, Seoul, Korea





Best Residential Interior: Francesco Librizzi Studio: Casa G, Sicily, Italy





Best Commercial  ⁄ Institutional Interior: Burdifilek: Galleria Luxury Hall West, Seoul, Korea






Best Furniture Design: Arper: Kinesit, by Lievore Altherr Molina





Best Furniture System: Randers + Radius: Grip Tablesystem, by GrumDesign





Best Lighting Fixture: Vibia: Wireflow, by Arik Levy





Best Lighting Installation: Licht Kunst Licht: Art Museum Ahrenshoop





Best Interior Product: Fireclay Tile: CRT Glass Tile, by Paul Burns






Best Unbuilt Competition Entry: Steven Christensen Architecture: Liepaja Thermal Bath





Best Concept / Prototype: Andrei Gheorghe: Robotic Infiltrations






Danny Karas (SCI-Arc, Los Angeles, USA): M&N






H&P Architects: Toigetation, Cao Bang, Vietnam





Saunders Architecture: Fogo Island Inn, Newfoundland, Canada






Sofia Ceylan, Katharina Laekamp and Leonie Otten: Memory of the Arctic







More Information:

Event Type: 
Competition 競賽
Project Category: 
Architecture 建築
Interior 室內
Design 設計

+852 0000 0000  |  |

Facebook Comments Box